Winter is not welcome

We chose the house simply,
On a slight rise surrounded by nature,
Tight against winter chill.
Inside Chopin, good wine, warmth,
The voice of the fireplace a whisper,
Its heart beat, a pulsating heat.
We have climbed life’s mountain, together,
Hand-in-hand, helping, sometimes waiting.
The scent of us is mingled in the night,
A winter storm beats on the door,
We will not let it in, it is not welcome.
Winter is the change, the long sleep,
The blanket of snow preserving the spring.
We will look out our windows in May,
There will be flowers dancing with color,
Like memories stored, they live in belief.
We have always believed in another spring,
Nature’s reward for surviving winter.
Beside me on the couch I see you,
Your smile sweeps the cob webbed years away,
My wine glass empty, yours left untouched.
Though the hours only receive my breath,
I know you are there, patient as always.
These memories of you, small fragments of life,
But they are all I have and that is enough,
Their inner light pushing darkness away.
When sleep finds me, I will dream of you,
Holding you through the winter night once again.

Copyright: 2009, Donald Harbour

14 thoughts on “Winter is not welcome

  1. We have always believed in another spring,

    ……

    When sleep finds me, I will dream of you,
    Holding you through the winter night once again.

    A mature love poem, Donald. Way to go! Winter as metaphor too.

    Like

  2. I love the way Winter is the change, the long sleep, / The blanket of snow preserving the spring. and We have always believed in another spring turn out to be foreshadowing for the heartbreak at the end of the poem, and the hint of redemption as well.

    Like

  3. A beautiful tribute to a life lived together. Any woman would love a poem like this written for/about her.

    “Beside me on the couch I see you,
    Your smile sweeps the cob webbed years away,
    My wine glass empty, yours left untouched.
    Though the hours only receive my breath,
    I know you are there, patient as always.”

    Very touching. Bookmarked this one. 🙂

    Like

  4. Very nice, Donald. I love those opening three lines. They could easily set the tone as the opening words as a novel. I love the way you retrn to this initial tightness against winter chill in these lines:

    A winter storm beats on the door,
    We will not let it in, it is not welcome.

    And I love the seasonal contrast between looking in and looking out.

    Good work, Donald!

    Like

  5. This is a beautiful poem Donald. I love the drfting attitude, the references to “blankets”, “sleep finding me”. The memories are lovely. Your poem is a lasting tribute to a life well lived and a shared love realized. Thank you for posting.

    Like

  6. Donald, this is a very wise, peaceful poem. You use remarkable restraint and allow the sorrow and story to rise gradually from the details. There is acceptance and gratitude for what went before, rather than bitterness over what is no longer. But there is also great resolve to hold on to memory and to intimacy despite life “going on” insistently with its metaphoric seasons. The poem moves wonderfully between those two poles, grateful intimacy and fierce resolve.

    Like

  7. “my wine glass empty, yours left untouched” really resonates donald. enjoyed the progressions from beginning to end, the story unfolding in the verse. this makes me reach for a blanket and refill my bourbon. -lawrence

    Like

  8. As beautiful in sentiment, in its own wonderful ways, as “Western Wind,” one of the earliest of all English poems, which starts:

    Westron wynde when wyll thow blow
    the smalle rayne downe can rayne…

    You have written a classic. Thanks for sharing.

    –Therese L. Broderick

    Like

Leave a Reply

